Liebster Award – thank you!

Like many bloggers before me, I check my site stats almost obsessively.  It’s not so much the numbers (although I get one hell of a kick thinking about all those people reading my words) but I am particularly interested in where those beguiling little figures have come from.  How did they find it?  What search terms did they use?  Usually, if someone reblogs one of my posts I get a notification, but imagine my surprise when, all of a sudden, there was a trickle of visitors from www.momgoeson.wordpress.com Now I love this blog.  The writer is so funny, so honest, she is American, so, for me, she offers me a window into a world I feel like I know from television and films, but I know that in reality I don’t; she always raises a smile and often a snort of a guffaw, but I couldn’t understand how visitors could be clicking through from her blog to mine.

Turns out she has been nominated for a Liebster Award (not sure what that is, I shall have to do some furtive googling), and in her turn, has nominated me.  Wow!  Thanks!

These are, she tells me, the Liebster Award rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  3. Nominate 11 other blogs with less than 500 followers.
  4. Post 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Tag your nominees & post a comment on their blog to let them know you nominated them.

 

Questions for me to answer:

1. Last good book you read?  Make My Wish Come True by Fiona Harper.  For a while there I aspired to be a writer of Mills and Boons, and I met Fiona at an RNA party about four or five years ago.  As doing my homework required me reading libraries worth of romantic novels, Fiona’s impressed me with how she managed to write something emotionally ‘true’ and funny within the confines of an extremely tight genre.  I probably impressed her as a completely bonkers wannabe romantic novelist, but there we go.  This Christmas I was tired, feeling a bit low and in possession of a brand, spanking new Kindle.  What the heck, I thought.  Frothy sweet stuff from Fiona is just what this girl needs.  What a surprise!  It wasn’t really an M&B at all.  It was about sisters, and how they misunderstand each other.  It was about mothers, and how they set the bar so high that they struggle to reach it.  I cried, and it was lovely.

2. Quick! Name one favorite from your Ipod or whatever device you prefer for music. Can I name two?  Please?  Current listening faves are Young Blood by Sophie Ellis Bextor and My Lighthouse by the Rend Collective.  I should have been a singer.  I should have been in a folk/rock band.  In the mean time, I rack up the volume in the kitchen and sing away the washing up.

3. On that subject, what’s your favorite mobile device and why? Oh, my iPhone.   I love my iPhone.  I never thought I’d have one.

4. Describe a favourite toy of your childhood.  My Sindy doll horse and carriage.  I used to spend ages whizzing it along in an attempt to get the wheels to look as if they were going backwards like they do in films.  Make of that what you will.

5. If you’re a parent (and I think you all are), describe a time you were especially proud of one of your kids.  My middle son is a heartbreaker.  He started school with such self-confidence, and slowly but surely, over the last seven years, he has had a great deal of it squashed out of him.  He’s a musical little chap, so when we had a letter about learning to play an instrument, we took him to a music shop and let him chose the one he liked.  He chose a violin.  Last summer, his teacher had him up in fron of the school to play a piece that he will play for his Grade 1 in a couple of weeks.  And he played!  I don’t mean that he played just the notes; he actually played it.  The whole school sat up and listened, he stood there in his diffident way, looking at the floor, and I nearly burst with love for him.

6. What’s the best post you’ve ever written, in your opinion? Ooops! Nearly forgot this one. It’s called ‘I never thought it would be me’. It’s where my journey with Down Syndrome started. I gave it a page of its own, which you can find at the top of this website. I hope you enjoy it.

7. What outfit are you most likely to wear on a Saturday?  Jeans.   Actually, so long as I’m not working I am most likely to be wearing jeans most of the time.

8. What’s your favourite television series?  Battlestar Galactica (the new series, not the ‘70s one).

9. What are you most likely to order if you find yourself at a really good coffeehouse?  Diet Coke.  Hate hot drinks.  Yuck.

10. Who was the last person to take out the trash at your house?  My husband.  I don’t do it unless there is no alternative (ie. he is away).  I do not consider it to be part of my job description.

11. If you could meet any historical figure, who would it be and why?  Oh, my goodness!  I’m not very sure about this one, even though I have a History degree!  I think my main problem is that I studied women’s history, which is dominated by themes and social history, rather than personalities.  Somebody like Jane Austen would be interesting, or maybe Ada Nield Chew, a woman from the early Twentieth Century, a talented woman no less, even though she was a working class girl working in a cotton mill, who got involved in the suffrage movement and lived the sort of principled life and wrote the sort of things that inspired me when I was a young student, discovering how much hard work had gone into my easy acceptance of my vote and my right to an education.  Husband says he would like to meet Neil Armstrong, Frank Whittle and the Wright brothers.  You will have to guess his obsession.

 

OK.   So that’s enough about me.  Romance reading, jeans wearing, sci-fi watching soft-hearted mother of violin playing child.  Here is my list of blogs that I really enjoy reading.  I’m not sure that I can make 11, but here goes.  In no particular order:

  1.  Splogs
  2. Freeing the Angel
  3. Jonnywalkerteaching
  4. Stack of marking
  5. Mom Goes On
  6. Reflecting English
  7. SENtinel
  8. IQM blog
  9. Orange juice flavour sky
  10. Classroom Truths
  11. Secret Teacher6

Just made it to 11!  I dot about so much!  These blogs are interesting to the teacher part of me, the writer part of me, and the mother-of-a-child-with-down-syndrome part of me.  If you are interested in these things, I heartily recommend them.

Here are my questions.

  1.  Why do you write your blog?
  2. What did you want to do/be when you were a child?
  3. What was the last meal you ate?
  4. Favourite book (I will allow you to have up to ten, I’m kind that way).
  5. Favourite TV show.
  6. TV or radio?
  7. Theatre or cinema?
  8. E-book or real book?
  9. Live to work or work to live?
  10. Owl or lark?
  11. Husband wants to know if you think that space travel is worth the investment.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Liebster Award – thank you!

  1. Wow, thanks for your kind words about my blog! And I loved reading your answers. I think we’re very similar…so many things you said resonated with me. And I’m a life-long Anglophile, so I LOVE reading blogs from the UK. Looking forward to checking out the blogs you listed! -Amy

Leave a Reply

