Testing Times

I went into Waterstones the other day.  I was supposed to be buying my mum a birthday present, but, as is my wont, I happened into a book shop as I just happened to be passing.  Knowing that I didn’t have much time within which to complete my shopping, I hurried past those tempting tables of books, the ones where I used to spend quite considerable amounts of my hard-earned cash, and headed instead to the back of the shop, to where the children’s books are.

I love children’s books.  I love reading them, and I love buying them for my children, but I wasn’t looking for something to keep them entertained.  No, I went for a small corner tucked away to one side; the corner where they keep those books full of revision materials, or practice 11+ tests.  I patiently waited for a nice looking couple to move on, and then it was my turn.  I riffled through the books, looking for one in particular.

My younger son, A, you see, is in Year 6 at primary school.  This is the year that is focussed on the end of key stage tests.  In about three weeks’ time he will have his reading, writing, spelling, grammar and maths tested, and his teachers, his school, will be judged by the marks he gets.  As his academically achieving mother (although not as brainy as his father), I would like him to do well, so, knowing what I do, having taught Year 6 myself before, I thought I’d get him a revision book.  Maths.  The subject he flaps about, for some unknown reason.

There I was, book in hand, flicking through the pages, thinking how long it was, how much of it he would have to get through in a short period of time, when I suddenly found myself asking a question.  Just what was I doing?

Now, I have found myself in the unenviable position of disagreeing internally many times on the issue of homework with my children’s primary school.  Sam has always been the most reluctant of home workers, and his little brother and sister have pretty much followed in his footsteps in their dislike of worksheets that encroach upon their free time.  As a teacher-mother, I have seen how hard kids work in school, and I can’t imagine that my own are great exceptions to this observation.  I have seen how tired they are, how they kick off their shoes and lie, comatose, upon the sofa on their return home, how much they need instant feeding.

And, after all those years of kicking against the traces of homework that encroaches upon family time, A’s teacher has done something I think is eminently sensible.  He has given him no homework to do over the Easter holidays.  Despite those tests, there is no revision, no ten questions a day, nothing.

Instead of sitting at a table, sweating over calculations that worry him, A has been busy on a whole lot of other stuff.  Last week he was in his first ever play – at a real theatre, mark you.  He has, for the first time in his life, experienced the jolly japes of backstage, the satisfaction that comes of overcoming your very real stage fright.  He has learnt his lines, and sung songs of far greater complexity than he has ever done before.  He has made friends with children who don’t go to his school, been looked after by incredibly talented older kids whose age I can’t work out (they seem everso big to me).

And when he hasn’t been performing he’s been out in the glorious sunshine, building dens and digging holes with other little boys who live nearby.  He’s played Minecraft with his little sister until the cows came home.  He’s stayed up late reading Swallows and Amazons.  He’s disappeared into enormous play parks with friends he only sees in the holidays.  He’s been to visit a newly refurbished local art gallery.  After a busy term where, along with the rest of us, he’s struggled along being just under the weather, he has relaxed.

It’s been lovely.

So what was I doing with that Maths book in my hand?  Sometimes I find it hard to switch between my two roles: teacher-mother.  As a teacher I want my boy to do well, to show what he’s capable of.  I want him to work hard, do his best, and take a number up to secondary school that will mean he finds himself swimming in the right set, preferably not one where there are kids for whom behaving well and working hard is an anathema.  As a mother I find it difficult when everyone seems to be talking about which school their kid is going to, what level their kid is at.

Because, you see, for a long time, I never had to put up with any of that nonsense. For a long time, Sam, with his label and his disability, gave me a Get Out of Jail Free Card.  Parental pissing contests don’t mean much when someone else, and their kid, is on a different track.

And in that bookshop, at the back and in the corner, I gave myself a talking to.  As a teacher and a mother.  I reminded myself of the decision I made, back when I was stuck in the maternity unit, waiting to be told that I could take my baby home.  Back when Sam was only a few days old I realised that I didn’t have a baby so that he could reflect well on me.  I didn’t have children so that I could live vicariously through them, or bask in their reflected glory.  It was, and is, my privilege, and my responsibility to bring them up, to give them the foundations so that they can go on and live an independent life.  The rest is up to them.  My worth as a parent is, perhaps, only going to be known when they are parents themselves.

And I reminded myself that I am not a failure if my kids don’t live up to some arbitrary standard set up by someone else.  I am not a failure, either mother or teacher, because the children don’t have the right number of chromosomes, or the ‘right’ letter or number following their names on a school tracking system. All I can do is my best, and sometimes, with no reference to me, other things happen.

And that’s why I don’t like the end of key stage tests.

 

 

Image courtesy of the BBC

27 thoughts on “Testing Times

  1. Yay for you! I echo your thoughts here 100%, and I’ve been through the same thought processes many times as a mother/teacher.

    And…I love children’s books too. I just had the privilege of having my ministry area at church given a large cash gift to create a children’s play/reading area. Oh, such fun having an enormous budget to buy kids’ books (and browse the children’s book area of my favorite bookstore)! This weekend is the grand opening of the Kids’ Lounge, as we’re calling it, and I can’t wait to see my little friends playing and reading together! 🙂 -Amy

  2. Amen once again! I can’t love this post enough. I am exactly the same! EXACTLY. I don’t sit and go through my little ones weekly spellings religiously with him for a test because he is tested on one phoneme but five graphemes and his little (despite very clever) brain isn’t THAT sophisticated that and I refuse to jump through the hoops schools set. (As a teacher I refuse to jump through most of the hoops and am surprised at times I still have a job.) The point about our job to raise them with foundations to live an independent life. ABSOLUTLEY! I love A’s teacher. Our poor Year 6’s have been bombarded by their teacher. It shocks me. Teaching to tests is all it is ad it’s wrong. I’ll shut up now. I could go on all night! Great post Nancy. 🙂

  3. Great post. My daughter(not 11 until end of July) is also in year 6 and I used to be a teacher too. She goes to a very creative school where they refuse to teach to the test. The only homework we have is an up cycling project to plan and carry out! I love this approach BUT I have found myself going into mini panics that she isn’t ready for sats as there are chunks of the level 5 curriculum which just haven’t been covered yet. When I see parents with children at other schools, who have been practising sats papers and attending booster sessions since January, it is hard not to worry that our daughter will be disadvantaged at secondary school. BUT she has had many wonderful learning experiences at junior school which can’t be measured by testing.
    Anyway, today she has been diagnosed with glandular fever so SATS feel even less important now! She has read her height in books though, which must stand her in good stead!!

  4. Oops!!! Meant to say – let children be children. Let’s teach them to enjoy life and foster a love of learning!!! Our education system turns children off to education!

  5. I love that you have forwarded this to Michael Rosen. The first time I did SATs – must have been 1989, i wrote to Michael to thank him for his poetry that was keeping my class of 2nd language learners going through the madness of floating apples and creating maths games that demonstrate computation skills ( or was that just a nightmare I had).

  6. A wonderful post! As a teacher in sec ed & mum to 4 I have had this struggle too. My own Yr 6 baby is scared of numbers, she hates maths. I asked her why and it was solely due to not being a level 4A yet. So hung up on numbers & letters that mean sod all. Her brother & sister now in GCSE land have turned the tide on what they were capable of in one hour when they were 10yrs old. I will not worry!

  7. I’m curious about your comments about not going through this with Sam. Is it that he does not have to take standardized tests, or that you just don’t worry about them? Here in America, there is a huge controversy because all students, including those with significant disabilities, must take annual standardized tests. 1% of the total student population may take an alternate format test, which is undergoing changes to make it more standardized. I have taught students with Down Syndrome in the past who were required to take grade level standardized tests. The rhetoric is that we should have high expectations of grade level performance for all students. 1% generally only includes students with significant, multiple disabilities, and those in long-term home care for health issues.

    1. You’re right. He didn’t have to take them. I admit, I’m not entirely sure about the mechanism for this – at the school where I work children who have not been in the country for 2 years don’t have to sit them.
      I think it’s a nonsense to make those with significant learning difficulties sit these tests – teachers should have a good handle on where they are at anyway – and goes to the heart of what testing is about: a sword hanging over the necks of teachers.
      And it shows a misunderstanding of inclusion, to my mind. We don’t have to all be the same to be valued members of society.

      1. I agree. And your last sentence “We don’t have to all be the same…” applies to the testing of all our children, not just those with disabilities. If fact, society would fall apart if we were all the same. We need difference to fill all the niches in our complex world. Keep up the good writing.

  8. I have opposed SATs since their introduction, however i encouraged my boys to work for them, as hard working year 6 teachers careers and livelihoods hang in the balance if children don’t ‘make the grade’.

  9. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  10. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    great. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous
    blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  11. Great story. No wonder rates of mental illness are soaring among primary school age children.

    His Holiness the Dalai Lama writes:

    ‘People were created to be loved. Things were created to be used. The reason the world is in chaos is because things are being loved and people are being used.’

    For #HumanityInEducation please sign and share. Thanks.

    https://www.change.org/p/hm-government-save-childhood-and-take-back-our-education-system?recruiter=88921672&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=share_email_responsive

Leave a Reply

